3D patterning

For photolithographic patterning of conductive and dielectric layers on 3D MEMS surfaces with incrementally level, sloping and even extremely steep topologies it is necessary to apply the required photoresist as conformly as possible.

To this end, in recent years spray coating of photoresist has become established as a versatile, low cost technique with batch process capability. At CiS this method has been employed and developed further for many years. We have succeeded in increasing conformity considerably so that now higher structural resolutions beyond topologies are possible.

For special applications it may also be worthwhile to use electrochemically precipitative photoresist as an alternative. This is precipitated in an electroplating bath while applying a current very consistently on a conductive surface layer.

In order to be able to expose the consistently precipitated photoresist layers and achieve structural integrity, CiS has acquired a new mask aligner. It boasts definitely improved depth imaging properties compared with conventional devices.




The development of exposed photoresist layers is conducted depending on the selected topology aspect ratios. At low rates submersion or paddle processing can be carried out. At high rates spraying is required, in order to achieve sufficient developer saturation.


Contact:

3D-Strukturierung

Zur photolithographischen Strukturierung von leitfähigen und dielektrischen Schichten auf 3D-Oberflächen zur Herstellung von MEMS mit stufenweise ebenen, schrägen, bis hin zu extrem steilen Topologien ist es erforderlich, den dazu notwendigen Photoresist möglichst konform aufzutragen.

Dazu hat sich zum einen in den letzten Jahren das Spray-Coating von Photoresist als vielfältig einsetzbare, kostengünstige und batchprozessfähige Technik etabliert. Im CiS Forschungsinstitut wird diese Methode seit vielen Jahren eingesetzt und weiterentwickelt. Hier gelang es, die Konformität deutlich zu steigern, so dass mittlerweile höhere Strukturauflösungen über Topologien hinweg möglich sind.

Für spezielle Anwendungen kann es zum anderen günstig sein, alternativ einen elektrochemisch abscheidbaren Photoresist zu verwenden. Dieser wird in einem Galvanikbad unter Anlegen einer Spannung sehr konform auf einer leitfähigen Oberflächenschicht abgeschieden.

Um die so konform abgeschiedenen Photoresist-Schichten strukturtreu belichten zu können, wurde im CiS Forschungsinstitut ein neuartiger Maskaligner angeschafft. Dieser weist gegenüber konventionellen Geräten deutlich verbesserte Tiefen-Abbildungseigenschaften auf.


Die Entwicklung der belichteten Photoresist-Schichten erfolgt abhängig von den gewählten Topologie-Aspektverhältnissen. Bei geringen Werten kann eine Tauch- bzw. Paddle-Entwicklung erfolgen. Bei großen Werten ist eine Sprühentwicklung erforderlich, um eine ausreichende Entwickler-Benetzung zu erzielen.