Deep etched structures

To produce 3D components, depending on the structural requirements and compatibility demands, various processes are needed with other manufacturing methods or materials to structure laterally masked areas in the third dimension (“depth”).

For complex, multidimensional forms several of these processes can be combined into 3D structuring.
With silicon’s crystalline structure the forms achievable through isotropic and anisotropic wet chemical etching processes are very limited. For a greater variety of silicon’s erosive formability electrochemical or plasma-supported etching processes are employed.

The aforementioned deep etchings are used to achieve 3D components in chips, mainly through silicon vias, membranes, also in connection with rigid structures, beams, spring structures, trenches, recessed bond areas, etc. and construction elements such as chip carriers, mechanical-electrical interfaces for nano and microstructured sensors and actuators, functional cavities for optical systems, mechanical brackets for optical and microoptical components, etc.


Contact

Tiefenstrukturierung

Zur Realisierung von 3D-Komponenten werden je nach Strukturanforderungen und Kompatibilitätsforderung mit anderen Herstellungsverfahren oder Materialien verschiedene Verfahren zur Strukturierung lateral maskierter Bereiche in der dritten Dimension ("Tiefe") benötigt.
Für komplexe mehrdimensionale Formen können mehrere der Verfahren zur 3D-Strukturierung kombiniert werden.
Durch die Kristallstruktur des Siliziums sind die durch isotrope und anisotrope nasschemische Ätzprozesse erreichbaren Formen eng begrenzt vorgegeben. Für eine größere Vielfalt der abtragenden Formbarkeit von Silizium werden elektrochemische oder plasmaunterstützte Ätzprozesse eingesetzt.

Die vorgenannten Tiefenätzungen werden für die Realisierung von 3D-Komponenten in Chips, vornehmlich Through-Silicon-VIAs, Membranen, auch in Verbindung mit biegesteifen Strukturen, Biegebalken, Federstrukturen, Trenches, abgesenkten Bondbereichen u.a.m. und Konstruktionselemente, wie z.B. Chipträger, mechanisch-elektrische Schnittstellen für Nano- und Mikrostrukturierte Sensoren und Aktuatoren, funktionale Kavitäten für optische Systeme, mechanische Halterungen in Lab-on-Chip-Applikationen, mechanische Halterungen für optische und mikrooptische Komponenten u.a.m. eingesetzt.